Gantt pluggin (task/topic displayed against time)

Hi everyone !

First of all, I have no coding skills so forgive me if it seems unrealistic or whatever (I am just starting to learn JavaScript to use more extensively Dataview…)

Obsidian is a wonderful tool for a ton of purposes, and I think a pluggin might be useful for a particular use, let me go into details.

Context

I haven’t found a lot of other Obsidian users in the same field/having the same needs than me, so let me explain a bit

I use obsidian for professional purposes. I am working in a small R&D lab in chemistry industry (scientific field). I use Obsidian with a few pluggins, the main one being Dataview and Metadata Menu (and Canvas core pluggin).

With those pluggin, I extensively use metadatas in Obsidian to keep track of projects, task and topic management for the entire team and finally knowledge-wiki (to keep track of acquired knowledge and experience).

Pluggin feature idea

Global idea

To be fully functional for long term project, Obsidian could you a Gantt-type pluggin to complete Canvas and Dataview global task-related views.

Gantt chart are used to display tasks in time and relation between task in time.

Here is a few examples :

• Task B can only be started when task A is completed
    Gantt_1

• Task D can be started when task C is completed, which can be started when task B is completed, which can start when task A is completed (each task has it unique time duration).
    All of those are parts of red global task

All those task on a specific project are usually displayed in a global view like the following one, to detail task time timeline. It could work the same way in Obsidian or maybe change the global view based on Obsidian specificity.

How it would work

I use the word “Task” to talk about an Obsidian note because I personally use note as topic or experiment notes, as “tasks” on a bigger project.

I imagine it would be based on Dataview (probably Dataviewjs ?) and Metadata menu.