Flashing bar when typing

Hello all! I am very new to using Obsidian and I’m not sure if this is the best place for this problem, so any advice you have would be greatly appreciated. I did a quick search throughout the forum and couldn’t find another similar post.

I have v0.11.3 for Mac. Whenever I type any text in a note, there is a black bar that appears one line below with each character I type. The bar immediately disappears and is only visible for a split second, but it’s giving me a headache since it happens with every key stroke and ends up having a flashing effect. It does not happen when I title a note or folder, and it does not happen when I delete text. I have tried typing with no theme and with a theme, in both light and dark modes, and this bar always appears. It seems to extend from just below my text all the way to the right side of the window.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you so much.

Hi @hmw1031, that sounds annoying :frowning: I haven’t heard of an issue like that before. Do you mind creating a screen recording so we can better see what you mean?

A few ideas I had for diagnosing the issue:

• Do you have an external monitor plugged in? In the past, I have seen rendering issues that go away by unplugging your external monitor and plugging it back in.
  • Also, does the issue persist after restarting your computer?

Hi @liam

Thank you so much, and my apologies for the delay!

Here is the video: https://youtu.be/V_P8AHonzDo

I don’t use an external monitor, this is just on my Macbook laptop.

I also tried restarting my computer, this video was taken after I restarted.

Thanks again!
Hannah

1 Like

this is really strange, have you noticed this happening anywhere else outside of Obsidian, or does it only happen when you type in Obsidian?

If you determine it’s just Obsidian It’s worth trying to see if a community theme, or community plug in could be causing the issue.

You can test this in a few ways

Create a brand new Obsidian vault