Dynamically Embedding all daily notes?

I’m new to Obsidian and not actually setup to use the system fully yet. In porting over my current workflow from another system, I’m trying to understand how I can change/optimize for Obsidian. Specifically in question is what I think ya’ll would call daily notes. Each time I meet with someone, I create a new note, under their folder.

Is it possible for me to create an “index” note that embeds (includes) all the text from all the days notes with that person? I’ve found Dataview and Text Expander plugins but neither seem to be quite there.

With dataview I can do:

``dataview
LIST
FROM "Scott"
WHERE startswith(file.name, "2024")
SORT file.name DESC
``

That does a perfectly great TOC style list to every page, but isn’t an embed. Based on a lot of research I ended at this github feature request which indicates its not possible out of the box? Unless you use some horrifically huge amount of javascript? maybe?

The other side is Text Expander.

``expander
path:Scott/ "2024"
![[$filename]]
``

While this isn’t truly dynamic, it’s dynamic enough to work for my needs. The only problem is that there doesn’t seem to be any option to control the search query order? So everything is exactly backwards of what I was hoping for.

Appreciate anyones help on this. I’ve spend the last few hours googling/foruming/etc and … I think the answer is I can’t do what I want (and if that’s the answer, so be it), but I figured I’d ask.

You might be able to make the Waypoint or Zoottelkeeper plugins generate a list of embeds instead of links.

Otherwise, it might be possible to use Templater to do it. It would probably be more arcane than the above, and you’d need to rerun the template to pick up changes.

Some less close matches:

• Tagged Documents Viewer is in the ballpark.
  • Multiple Notes Outline doesn’t show the whole content.