Display blurs or distorts on pointer movement

What I’m trying to do

I have an Aspire a717 72g 76v1 laptop, which is usually my go-to machine. No matter what theme I try for Obsidian, when I move the mouse, The background blurs and distorts, leaving visual artifacts that distort the display.

I have seen this in only one other place: On Fcebook, in the Brave browser, when moving the pointer across an image.

This does not happen on any of my other computers.

Things I have tried

I have tried ACER support and forums. No luck. I’ve searched the Web. No luck. I’ve tried to find a comprehensive source for Monitor/Display problem solving. No luck.

I’ve been doing computers and hardware for over 59 years, and I could fix this if someone could point me in the right direction; even if they could point me to a discussion group that I could ask the question. I’m new to Obsidian, but I may just have to scrap it if I can’t make the display work on the system I usually use.

Thank you for your help.

UPDATE: While I was waiting for a reply, I decided to overhaul my Aspire a717 72g 76v1. I disabled and replaced all the drivers. (I have an internal Intel graphics card and an NVIDIA GTX 1060 in this laptop.) The graphics are much better now, although I still get some blurred/distorted artifacts at the edges of my window sections when I move the pointer from one section to another. It is much more useable, especially if I use the Blue Topaz theme. I am convinced that this is an anomaly limited to this particular system: I do not have similar issues on any of my desktops or my Surface Pro 3. It is just unfortunate that this is my most-used, most-portable work machine. I am looking forward to learning how to use Obsidian efficiently. Suggestions are still welcome, and thank you for any help.