Dataview table - Combining different values in a single column

What I’m trying to do

I’m struggling with a dataview table- I’d like to create a table which displays two (or more) values combined in a single column.

Things I have tried

l’ve searched a lot and attempted to implement some solutions similar to my case, but none have worked effectively. Seems like some people succeed doing something similar using dataviewjs or regrexreplace, however as a total beginner, it was a bit daunting to understand and apply them. I attempted to mimic few solutions, but encountered errors when dealing with ", ". Whenever I used that, dataview stopped functioning, pointing out that thing.

This is my file:

And this is the result of what I tried:

TABLE definition as Definition,meaning as Meaning__,synonyms as Synonyms,(reference + example) as Usage
FROM #voca 

and this the desired result:

I’m also curious if I can combine the file title, meaning and synonym together as well.
(for instance,
File. ________Defintion _____________Usage
test.
cognoscenti
전문가, 권위자

I prefer a version without those dots, but if it’s not feasible, please kindly advise on how to circumvent the result I got and make it look clean and organised. Any insights would be greatly appreciated :sob:

1 Like

When you do example + reference the values are interpreted as strings, but you want to add the list together, so try flat(list(reference, example)) and see if that produces what you want.

2 Likes

Despite I still see the bullets, your code solved my problem! It helped a lot, thank you.
By the way, I’d be so grateful if you, or anyone else, could answer some further questions!

So this is what I got:

TABLE flat(list(definition, synonyms,meaning)) as Definition,flat(list(reference, example)) as Usage
FROM #voca

1. Should I work with CSS to add a space/gap between definition and synonyms, synonyms and meaning, reference and example?