Dataview-like GUI that renders to markdown or code block

Use case or problem

I’m coming to Obsidian from Notion and I have no use for the graph view or even the backlinking features. However, I love the dataview plugin and I find it useful for most of needs. Luckily, I’m a programmer, but I can’t imagine someone without programming experience being able to use Obsidian in the same way I do.

Proposed solution

If Obsidian had a GUI for creating dataview-like query tables, I think it would be a real Notion killer. It would replicate most of Notion’s features, while offering a million more features, greater speed, offline accessibility and encryption.

I realize it’s a pretty major feature, but I think it could be really effective.

Current workaround (optional)

Dataview plugin/dataviewJS. Fine for me, if a bit finnicky. But I couldn’t imagine recommending this plugin for most of my non-coding friends. Learning curve too high.

8 Likes

@scottp +1 on this.

I have been a tinkerer since birth and coding (trying to become a “professional” dev but not YET), and this has allowed me to also get value out of dataview/js and also actually taught me about programming - designed a theme available in the store learning CSS and git that way. But for most, I totally agree, I just wouldn’t want to lose any functionality but i’m probably in the minority of people who get excited by seeing an unfamiliar syntax and some good documentation to go through.

I would imagine it’s either a plug-in in the works or deff something they’ve talked about. So I’d be interested to hear, from people like yourself more knowledgeable, on possible drawbacks, or if the dataview/js plugin could be added upon to create this.

I’ve thought about this for awhile as so much even in these forums is trying to share the little intricacies people have figured out to make these awesome applications of the plug-in.