Dataview: Column misalignment when using dataviewjs

Things I have tried

I’ve tried looking through the dataviewjs documentation and javascript documentation in general, but I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to js, and couldn’t find an answer.

What I’m trying to do

I’m attempting to create a table displaying my current planted vegetables in my garden. The table works fine, however the columns in the table seem to not align properly? I have tried turning off Readable Line Length, but the issue persists. I have a less granular table written in DQL that seems to align the columns fine.

Here is what I’m talking about:

Here is my code:

// get all notes from Garden
	let pages = dv.pages('"Projects/Garden"')
		.where(p => p.Type == "Vegetable").where(p => p.Location != null)

// create group object
	let groups = pages.groupBy(p => p.Family);

// create list
	for (let group of groups) {
		dv.header(3, group.key);
		dv.table(["Location", "Plant", "Date Sowed", "Ready"],
			group.rows
				.sort(b => dv.date(dv.date(b.Planted).plus(dv.duration(b.Harvest + " days"))), 'asc')
				.map(b => [b.Location, b.file.link,
					b.Planted, dv.date(dv.date(b.Planted).plus(dv.duration(b.Harvest + " days")))])
		)
	}
1 Like

That is a “styling” issue.
By default, column width is related with the “size” of the content in each column and the columns distribution in page width, i.e., it’s a dynamic thing.

If you want a stable/static width you need to define a css snippet and apply it to that file via css class.

Or, if dataviewjs, maybe you can “inject” a code for the container style.

Another way to put it, is that your code produces multiple tables, which don’t know about the other tables, and thusly don’t know the table width of the other tables.