Daily note template for each day of the week?

Hello,

I’m wondering if someone can help me figure out how to use Templater to construct different daily notes for each day of the week (mon, tues, etc.). The idea being to have daily notes reflect my periodic chores/practices based on the day; e.g. Monday might be laundry day. Tuesday might be meditation, etc.

Is there a way to use Templater to do this? I’ve been unable to find a solution by searching the forum but perhaps I’ve missed something? Can anyone make some suggestions - I have a feeling templater is the way to go but I’m just a little too tech illiterate to figure it out on my own, I’d greatly appreciate some help if anyone knows how to do this! :slight_smile:

Warmest,
j

1 Like

My personal solution unfortunately strays into the deep end of the technical pool. It starts with four independent note files:

• recurring.weekly.md holds a list of formatted items that occur on a particular day of the week
  • recurring.monthly.md holds a list of formatted items that occur on a particular day of the month. Includes things like reminders to download bank and credit card statements.
  • recurring.yearly.md holds a list of formatted items that occur on a particular day of the year. Includes things like birthdays and anniversaries.
  • events.md holds a list of formatted items that happen on a particular date. Includes things like work holidays since they vary by year, scheduled meetings and events, and reminders of when things like passports or drivers licenses expire

I then have a JavaScript function for each of these note files that that parses the content and returns items that match the current day.

Finally, my daily note template calls each of these functions in turn as it builds the contents of my day.

For example, the contents of recurring.weekly.md might look something like:

+ {Mon} work:: Weep because a new work week is starting
+ {Mon} work:: Weekly one-on-one with pointy-haired boss @ 10:00