Daily note tasks due today that don't update the following day

Like many people, I use dataview to populate my daily notes with tasks that are incomplete and due “today” as well as tracking tasks I have finished “today.” I have been doing this:

not done
due today

and

done today

Then I realized that the “today” part updates. This makes both sections of my daily template useless as historical records. Is there a way to replace “today” with the value of the actual date or with the title of the file?

I tried following this thread, but I don’t understand what he’s doing. (I’m new at markdown, and less than a beginner when it comes to coding.)

Is what I want to do possible?

Thanks

I use the Templater plugin to create my daily note, with something like below, so the today gets translated to hardcoded value. This way, going back to a previous Daily Note, the value is hardcoded and therefore preserved at that point in time.

modification date: <%+ tp.file.last_modified_date("dddd Do MMMM YYYY HH:mm:ss") %>
<%*
  let yesterday = tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD", -1, tp.file.title, "YYYY-MM-DD")
  let today     = tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD",  0, tp.file.title, "YYYY-MM-DD")
  let tomorrow  = tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD",  1, tp.file.title, "YYYY-MM-DD")
%>

[[<% tp.date.yesterday("YYYY-MM-DD") %>]] <== <button class="date_button_today">Today</button> ==> [[<% tp.date.tomorrow("YYYY-MM-DD") %>]]

## Tasks
### Over Due

```tasks

not done

due before <% today %>

```
### Today
#### Due Today

```tasks

not done

due on <% today %>

```

Thank you for this. I’ll implement it today and check back on Monday to see if it’s doing what I want it to do. Out of curiosity, what are you doing with the “button class” stuff?