Daily metadata in weekly notes

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Obsidian (but am a developer, so not afraid of custom solutions or coding, if required) but trying to set up my ideal workflow. I want to use Dataview to aggregate some sort of daily data (exercise, practice etc.) but I’d like to avoid creating a daily note, if possible.

I usually retrospect every two weeks, so what I would like to do (ideally), is create a fortnightly note with my retrospective and, within it include sections where I could store the daily data. So, it would look something like this:

# Week 1–2

// My notes go here ...

## Daily data
### 19700101
---
  exercise: 10
  practice: 20
---
### 19700101
---
  exercise: 15
  practice: 5
---

// etc.

I understand that a MD file can only have one frontmatter with metadata, but I wonder if there is a workaround or some way to structure the page/metadata or to query for data with Dataview that would allow me to do this.

My main motivation is to avoid having a proliferation of metadata-only daily notes in my filesystem.

As a newbie, any help is greatly appreciated!

You can try inline metadata fields something like this.

• [date:: 1970-01-01] [exercise:: 10] [practice:: 20]
  • [date:: 1970-01-02] [exercise:: 20] [practice:: 5]

I guess that there would be some trouble if there are two sets of data for the same date.

I think the better option, which are very easy to query using dataview, is to use lists:

- (date:: 1970-01-01) [exercise:: 10]
- (date:: 1970-01-01) [practice:: 10]
- (date:: 1970-01-02) [exercise:: 15]
- (date:: 1970-01-02) [practice:: 5]

Which would show up in the default theme something like this:

(It can be styled to your liking, rather easily).

This then allows for queries where you can pull out the various stuff like, the exercises using something like:

```dataview
TABLE WITHOUT ID item.date as Date, item.exercise as "Exercise count"
FLATTEN file.lists as item
WHERE file.name = this.file.name
WHERE item.exercise
```