Converting set of names into internal links

What I’m trying to do

I frequently capture meeting minutes into a note and end up with a line like:

Attendees: Jim Smith, Sally Brown, Helen Jones, Marco Anderson

where I’d like to efficiently convert the attendees into internal links like:

Attendees: [[Jim Smith]], [[Sally Brown]], [[Helen Jones]], [[Marco Anderson]]

I’m new to Obsidian and know I can select each name and double tap the [ to do an individual name, but I’d love a way to quickly select all attendees and convert them all.

I’ve looked for a community plugin and at the doc for internal-links, but nothing seems like it shows how to do this. Any suggestions?

If you enable the Backlinks core plugin, you can visit the target (e.g. Jim Smith) and then look at the Backlinks tab. Scroll down to “Unlinked Mentions” and you can quickly click the “Link” button for each unlinked mention.

This doesn’t do exactly what you requested–but depending on the size, you can also open your vault in VS Code and perform a “Find & Replace in files” replacing “John Smith” with “[[John Smith]]” all at once.

Or write the names vertically instead of in a line
Press Alt/Option while selecting them all.
Move the cursors to the beginning of the line, press [[ then move cursors to the end of the line and press ]].
(I use keyboard for this last step).