Clinical Medical Notes

Hey there.

So for a bit of background, I’m a medical student who is in hospital full time. I have previously relied on Anki + Q banks to help me pass my exams and these have really done the trick. I have recently been researching Obsidian and love how the notes are permanent and easy to navigate/link etc. My biggest gripe with Anki is how every note is structured in the form of a question in one way or another.

So my question is: is there a way that anyone would recommend using Obsidian to take notes (along with Anki) to take clinical medical notes? We get given a list of learning outcomes e.g. Fever in a child or Loss of Voice and are expected to cover common differentials, treatments, management plans etc.

I am only asking this as this sort of ‘knowledge management’ seems to differ from taking more ‘abstract’ thoughts from books and such, which are more commonly discussed when talking about Obsidian.

Thanks in advance and I’ll happily answer questions if it helps provide clarity!

(P.S. I am aware of Obsidian to Anki etc. and I happy with inputting cards on Anki, and still intend to use it)

2 Likes

Hi,
why not use Obsidian in combination with the “spaced repetition”- plugin?
With this plugin you don’t need to write questions.
The heading can be the question or a “::” between items would be detected als Q & A.
I use this for notes in Obsidian, where there are facts to study inbetween.

I think Obsidian (or linked notes in general) can be really useful for what you’re trying to do. So you could take fever, for instance, and connect it to all the possible diagnoses. Likewise, treatments could be linked to the various diseases you use them with.

Practically, you could search for various symptoms in the links you’ve built and build a good differential.