Chrome Extension for capturing website and Kindle highlights

So there are tools for capturing highlights on webpages (e.g., Readwise, Liner) but I think the idea of paying for such a simple tool is a bit ridiculous. I am also a Kindle user and wanted an easy way to capture all my highlights from any particular book and paste them in to Obsidian.

Of course, being a developer I figured I should just make this myself, so I did!

Simple Scholar is a Chrome/Brave/Edge extension that will allow you to capture highlights from any website, copy them as Markdown and then paste them in to Obsidian. If you go to a Kindle Highlights page and tap the extension it will automatically capture all the highlights visible on the page.

I’d love to have anyone test it and/or give feedback. I am planning on adding visual markers of where on the page you’ve highlighted text over the next week or so.

Check it out here

3 Likes

I tried it out. When I select just 1 sentence, then click the icon, I only get the URL, followed by this:

• That thing that made you weird as a kid could you make great as an adult — if you don’t lose it.
  • If you have any doubt at all about being able to carry a load in one trip, do yourself a huge favor and make two trips.
  • What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals. At your funeral people will not recall what you did; they will only remember how you made them feel.
  • Recipe for success: under-promise and over-deliver.
  • Duis pellentesque sapien at odio semper, faucibus congue lorem iaculis. Duis sed purus ut metus laoreet ullamcorper.
  • Duis sed purus ut metus laoreet ullamcorper. Aenean mollis tempus quam molestie rutrum. Nam in pulvinar enim. Mauris vel eros vulputate, dignissim massa a, accumsan neque.
  • Aliquam at volutpat velit, non rhoncus sapien. Cras ante felis, finibus sit amet tristique nec, pulvinar bibendum magna. Curabitur at commodo nibh.