Children bullet points instead of dashes

Thanks to @Klaas and his GitHub repository, I’ve got alot of the CSS features in one place to add snippets, etc. One that I’m currently using to replace dashes with bullets only seems to replace the parent - with a bullet, but the children after tabbing are all still dashes.

Here’s the CSS that I’m currently using:

span.cm-formatting-list-ul {
visibility: hidden !important;
}

span.cm-formatting-list-ul:after {
content: '• ';
margin-left: -15px;
color: var(–text-normal);
visibility: visible !important;
}

Any thoughts are appreciated!

@jbrewer: at my end it works.

The image shows Edit mode. Could it be something to do with the theme you are using? I am just thinking out loud, I am not a CSS expert.

So, I downloaded a separate theme and just added the bullet point snippet to the code and it’s still only showing for the parent and not for the child…

It shows up on preview just fine, just not in the editor. Not a big deal at all, just wondered if there was something I wasn’t doing correctly. Thanks for all your help and time you put into the community @Klaas

@jbrewer
The code you are using is first hiding the bullets from everything:
visibility: hidden;
This has the effect of displaying what you actually typed, in this case the dash.
Then you’re adding it back to the ul element manually with the ul:after bit.

The reason you don’t see it on subsequent layers is because the ‘children’ list items are actually li elements. They’re all actually li elements, to be technical.

You can try changing the second bit to something like span.cm-formatting-list-ul:after, span.cm-formatting-list-ul li but I think that will only take you another level.

I recommend removing this completely, as the default bullets are the same character you are adding back in, anyways. You can still style them if you want different colors, padding, and margins without all of this. e.g.: li::marker {color:red;} as a dead simple example.