Can't get exactly what I want with code blocks or blockquote

Obsidian and Markdown newbie here. I’m using Obsidian to take notes for an upcoming IT certification test. The certification involves memorization of terminal commands and their output, so my notes consist of copied examples of syntax and their output. Using blockquotes for this content works reasonably well, as I can use formatting like bold, italics, and highlights to call out specific parts of the example output, but white space is not preserved. Since white space is not preserved, the output doesn’t line up properly. Alternatively, I can use code blocks which preserve the white space, but the tradeoff is that text formatting is ignored. For now, I’m using code blocks because the output lining up is more important than formatting the text.

Are there any options available that will preserve white space while also allowing me to format the text?

What kind of formatting do you need? There’s a third-party plugin that provides syntax highlighting for code blocks that will make it look much nicer, and might be sufficient for your needs.

Most of the time, I just need to bold or italicize parts of the text. The data in the codeblock isn’t a programming language, it’s just output from a network device. The codeblock simply makes it easy to maintain white space. Therefore, I don’t think syntax highlighting is what I need. Sorry, if I’m misunderstanding the suggestion.

I’m attaching a screenshot to illustrate what I’m trying to accomplish. The code block is on the left and the blockquote is on the right. You can see that the whitespace is preserved in the code block, but not in the blockquote. Also, you can see that I bolded the command show platform in the blockquote, but I’m unable to do that in the codeblock as it will be rendered raw (show platform).

Ah, then your easiest solution is probably to use CSS to specify a monospaced font for blockquotes. Are you comfortable with CSS?