Can I use the Dataview to COUNT the number of tags within a note?

With the purpose of organising my writing, I’d like to query a list of notes with a count of different types of tags within each note. This would provide me a snapshot of the type and amount of work that needs to be done in each note, and overall to complete the writing project.

I’m new to Dataview and haven’t tried any code yet, but hopefully this explanation provides enough context. I’d also be curious to read about different approached developed around similar use cases.

enjoy & thanks for reading

What I’m trying to do

Hi @paoloap I don’t see an example of what you’re wanting for a final output, but the Dataview plugin should do what you’re looking for.

If you want a table of pages with the counts of tags on each page you can do the following:

```dataview
TABLE
		length(tags) as numtags
	, "#" + join(tags, ", #") as tags
FROM
		#docker or #kubernetes 
```

Which will give output similar to the following:

If on the other hand you’re wanting a table of tags and the number of pages that they are on, then you need a little more involved dataview query:

```dataview
TABLE
		length(rows.file.name) as numfiles
	, join(rows.file.link, ", ") as files
FROM
		#docker or #kubernetes 
flatten
		file.tags as tag
group by
		tag
```

This will give you something like the following:

Let us know if you have any questions.

9 Likes

Hey Dug, thanks a lot for taking the time, it is exactly what I was looking for.

I could implement the 2nd solution straight away but something is going on with the 1st one. The snippet could correctly filter the note but fails to count the number of tags.

The syntax seems correct to me, I’m sending a screenshot to help you debug what’s going on.

Can you show how your tags are set up?

For me, I have the following frontmatter:

---
tags: [ "kubernetes", "docker" ]
…
---