[Bug] Duplicating Daily Note template for existing daily note

Platform

[ ] iOS
[x] Android

Obsidian Mobile version: v0.0.13

Samsung A30s running Android 10

Sync method: Obsidian Sync


I have the app configured to Open daily note on startup, and to use my Daily Note template when creating new daily notes.

I created my Daily Note on my laptop this morning. I opened the Android app a few hours later, and noticed that the Daily Note template fields were duplicated. Here is the result on desktop:

And on mobile:

The template was added to the top. You can see that by the {{ weather }} tag that hasn’t rendered on mobile as it relies on the Templater plugin.

4 Likes

This happened to me on iOS.

Obsidian Mobile version: v0.0.15

Apple iPhone 8, iOS 14.4

Sync method: Obsidian Sync

I do not open Daily Note on start-up.

I first opened today’s daily note on mobile. I do not have the templater plug-in installed, so the daily note was not filled out correctly.

I switch to desktop and opened the daily note. Templater correctly replaced template tags with the right data. I spent several hours entering contents into the daily note.

Later, I opened the daily note on mobile, and it upended the daily note template at the top of the existing daily note. The template tags were not replaced, as expected. All of my previous daily no contact appears below the daily note template.

I think this is the correct behaviour.
If you open a autogenerate a note before obsidian had the chance to sync that note from the cloud copy, you will get a merge of the two.

Except when I tested this, Obsidian had completed a cloud sync before I opened the mobile app.

Same here. Obsidian was open on my desktop, so the synch should have happened way before I opened the note on mobile.

Yes, I think it syncs to Obsidian vault. But not to your local vault on mobile. I think that sync on mobile starts only when you open the application. So it takes some time (depends on how many notes it has to sync.

This happened on iOS this morning.

I moved my desktop vault from icloud to my Home directory. Mobile and desktop use remote sync.

Opened the daily note on mobile hours after working on it for in the ipad and then the desktop.

On iphone it duplicated the daily note template above the previously edited daily note content.

Here’s the synch log. Note in question is the one for Apr 19

2021-04-19 17:25 - Connecting to server
2021-04-19 17:25 - Server pushed _Inbox/2021-04-18 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Server pushed _Daily/2021-04-18 - Sun Apr 18.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Server pushed _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Downloading file _Inbox/2021-04-18 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Downloading complete _Inbox/2021-04-18 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Accepted _Inbox/2021-04-18 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Downloading file _Daily/2021-04-18 - Sun Apr 18.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Downloading complete _Daily/2021-04-18 - Sun Apr 18.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Accepted _Daily/2021-04-18 - Sun Apr 18.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Merging conflicted file _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Merge successful _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Accepted _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Uploading file _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Upload complete _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Server pushed _Daily/2021-04-19 - Mon Apr 19.md
2021-04-19 17:25 - Fully synced
2021-04-19 17:30 - Connecting to server
2021-04-19 17:30 - Fully synced
2021-04-19 17:32 - Connecting to server
2021-04-19 17:32 - Fully synced

Do you think it’s because mobile creates a daily note on open and that note doesn’t exist yet in its local copy?

Is the fix to turn off open daily note on start?

I was thinking about that too actually. I think that may at least be a temporary workaround.

Are there any updates to this bug? Having the daily note open on startup has been very useful to my workflow but this double loading of notes is quite annoying unfortunately.

You need to turn off the “open daily notes on startup”. As others have said, obsidian doesn’t sync files until you open the app. If you immediately open daily notes page then it doesn’t have a chance to sync everything so it doesn’t know you already created a daily note page and so it creates one. Then a second or two later it finishes sync and sees you created one earlier so it appends the two so that you don’t lose any data.

Thanks based on the reply I realize that is what is going on. Considering “open daily notes on startup” is supported in official app. I was hoping devs would consider an option to delay the append until sync is done. For now as a workaround maybe I will turn that off on phone. Thanks for the help.

1 Like

Agree this is extremely frustrating and occurs using iOS as well. There needs to be a model for waiting for certain other events to occur, and/or the diff’ing needs to be much better

It’s a daily annoyance for me and I hope the devs will find a way to fix this.

Potential workaround: Use the calendar plugin to generate the next few daily notes in advance. That way they are synced before they are edited and differences between desktop and mobile can occur.