Backup Obsidian for beginners

I am a beginner who lost hours of work with a chart. I erased a column by mistake. I should have backed up. I made a copy of the page before I started playing with it, but the copy seems to inherit my mistake.
I would like to go back to my original, but apparently TimeMachine does not recognize it. ??? Also, I do not see how I open up a restored vault in Obsidian.
I realize that I could backup to git hub. But the directions for that are over my head.
For now I will stay away from Advanced Charts in Obsidian. I can not even find directions for a beginner. The links to to the new work done on formulas. I need beginner directions. How do I find those so I don’t make the same kind of mistake?

5 Likes

I’ve heard that dropbox comes with versioning. Would that help?

1 Like

Dropbox has 30-day version history on its cheapest paid tier.

@EllenMad you can just place your entire vault inside the Dropbox folder and have automatically backed up.

2 Likes

Dropbox seems to be for businesses. There’s assuming you have a team of three. I hope I can use my iCloud account and do something with Keyboard maestro to periodically save files.

2 Likes

Dropbox has a “Plus” plan fo individuals. However, if you’re willing to take care of the versioned backups yourself, it may be as simple as zipping your entire vault (minus the .obsidian folder) and putting a timestamp on the filename. I don’t use KM, but I’m sure it’ll be able to handle that. Doing it automatically every day would be even better.

1 Like

Thank you very much. I’m sure I would’ve spent hours trying to figure out what you just told me. Now I can ask the people that came in a reasonable way. Thank you.

1 Like

@EllenMad are you on a Mac or Windows machine? If you’re on Mac by chance, I have a script I can share that does automatic backups of your vault. If git/Github backups are over your head, this might be a useful plan-B.

5 Likes

I’d be interested in the script as well!

1 Like