Automize sorting into folders depending tags

Things I have tried

What I’m trying to do

:wave: Hello, my first post here in forum.

I am new to Obsidian and have little to none coding experience. Though I can’t wait to learn!

I want to create a script with Templater which enables me to use specific Custom Tags to move certain Paragraphs that I put into Dayly Notes into specific Folders.

Ex:
#Work = Send paragraph to Work Folder
#Home = Send paragraph to Home Folder
#Idea — || —
#Schedule — || —

The idea is to have some basic folder structure going on in my vault. I want it to structure and process my tasks and notes which i put into dayly notes. In this way I feel I can separate my daily workflow from my zettelkasten, which is going to be only organized with links and tags.

I have been searching the web, through guides and videos but without luck. Is there a way to do this?

I’ve been trying to use the tp.file.move command but i think im not getting the basics of that command right. Probably I am not understanding the file pathing fully or some other detail is wrong. Also I am not sure how and if it’s possible to implement the condition of sending certain paragraphs depending on what tags I accociate with it.

Id be greatly thankful to get this working! :star_struck:

I don’t know how to use Templater for this, but the Auto Note Mover plugin should do what you want.

Hmm, that sounds like a very viable solution, thank you!

I am a bit worried about plugins though. I am unaure of which ones is safe to use, both for the risk of system failure or bug making me lose my work. And/or also if I risk malware or open some kind of passage to my personal data and devices.

Also by relying on plugins i feel like maybe they arent going to be as future proof as making actual code, which is always going to be working?

I don’t know, im totally fresh to all of this like I explained earlier. I will try this out and come back with how it worked out.