[ASK] How to automatically add timestamp to Title for New Note in Android?

Hey everyone,

I’m new to the Obsidian world and could really use some tips and best practices from you all.

What I’m trying to do

I’ve been exploring some amazing templates and I’m currently using Bramses’ Highly Opinionated Vault 2023 as my base template. It works perfectly on my PC and Mac, but I’m having trouble creating new files on Android.

Whenever I create a new file on my PC or Mac, it gets generated in the Inbox with a timestamp in the title.

However, it doesn’t seem to work the same way on Android—the default title is just “Untitled.”

Things I have tried

I’ve tried changing the configuration, but I can’t seem to make it work on Android. The default new note title just won’t change.

This is my Unique Note Creator config

and this is my Templater config

Any advice or solutions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Is Unique note creator enabled on mobile? I don’t think it is by default.

As it’s not working on Android, I’d share the screenshots of your settings from mobile as well. Maybe someone can spot something.

1 Like

Thanks for checking!

Yes, it is enabled. Any other thing I should check?

How do you create the a “unique note” on your Android device ? :thinking:

Through the command palette ?
If yes, are you sure you’re using the command Unique note creator: Create new unique note ? (as opposed to the command Create new note)

What I find strange here (:thinking:), is that the new note is Untitled on creation… whereas even if you don’t set up the core plugin Unique note creator in Obsidian’s settings, as long as it’s enabled, it should work out of the box (as Obsidian has a default value for the date/time format to use as the title of the new note (YYYYMMDDHHmm)).
At least, this has been my experience with that core plugin :innocent: .