Apple ARM compatibility (Apple Silicon)

Obsidian is becoming a daily app for me. I also have an old MacBook that I have been using since 2012. I would like to wait to get a new ARM MacBook, however, if Obsidian isn’t supported for ARM, that would throw a wrench in my plans to get ARM MacBook.

Does anyone know if Obsidian will be supported on ARM Apple silicon?

3 Likes

That’s what Rosetta 2 is for, I believe.

1 Like

Obsidian in an Electron app ( https://www.electronjs.org/ ) like VS Code, Discord, Skype, GitHub Desktop and thousands more… stay sure that it’ll be compatible with ARM macs and any other hardware from day 0

1 Like

I really want Obsidian for the iPad but after seeing the Apple announcement yesterday, I am intrigued at the possibilities of the Macbook Air running Obsidian . . . thoughts?

2 Likes

MacBook Air with M1 chip is still running macOS (10 or 11) – so no reason Obsidian would not run on it.

99.99% chance Obsidian already runs on Apple Silicon using Rosetta 2 (emulation layer).

2 Likes

what do you mean by ‘using Rosetta 2’? Would I have to run a different program to run Obsidian? (sorry if that’s an obvious question…)

Apple’s official announcement explains it in more detail than I can. :slightly_smiling_face: (the bit about Rosetta 2 is near the end.)

1 Like

Thanks, that helped. Had no idea what Rosetta is (or that it existed)…Found this in my search and thought it was interesting:

Sorry to break the news, but I guess we are in the 1% territory. No version of Obsidian runs on Apple Silicon as of now via Rosetta 2. Electron apps, like Slack, need to be updated and—so far—Slack is the only one that did it.