Anyone want to share their approach to obsidian for client calls?

I’m new to obsidian, but feel that I have finally found a match for me. I’m interested to learn more about how others are using it though as I know I am not even scratching the surface yet.

My job is a business coach. I have one obsidian vault for everything. I store a lot of thoughts, findings and information under a few vague categories. I am not doing anything particularly clever with that, but it is fine.

I also have folder for “clients” which then contains a sub folder for each client. I currently have one file in there for kick off notes. One to track open issue (ie particular areas in their business that I want to check back on) and one for call notes. Within call notes I use headings for dates and just a bullet list of notes from each call.

During each call I try to remember to cover the open issues, I make new notes then try to remember to update open issues afterwards. It works, but I am aware it sucks.

I know Obsidian can do better. I just don’t quite know where to start. I’d love to know how others are tackling similar work, or where there are good places to learn more about how to get more from obsidian (rather than yet another yt video about “here is how to create a vault” “this is what markdown is” etc

Thanks

2 Likes

My way of using Obsidian is different to yours in one way. I make more use of backlinks.

Instead of having one folder per client with multiple files in it, I would have one “Clients” folder with one page per client. Then, I would use the daily notes. If I meet a client on a given day, I write my notes in the daily note and link to the client page on it. If in the notes I identify an open issue, I could link to the Open Issues page or use the #openissue tag.