★ Aggregate todo list with Dataview, but FILTER OUT checkboxes from forms

Is there anybody out there that can explain how I can create a Dataview codeblock that aggrigates ONLY my Todo tasks?
I’m not a programmer, so simple Dataview lists I can handle, but I can’t grasp this.

The problem is that I have a huge amount of forms in my notes and they also show up in that list. Like this:

I just want my todo collection and not every checkbox in a form I created in my Obsidian notes. :wink:

Any tips? :mechanical_arm:

2 Likes

Is there any way to differentiate these checklists from your tasks? A tag on them, or in each checklist note, for instance?

Sure, I could add #todo between the checkbox and the text, but that would be another (redundant?) action from my side. But yes, that’s doable. :wink:

Would you see a solution then?

The point is: how you tell to dataview to, in front of elements with the same syntax - [ ] - -, distinguish ones from others? There’s no AI in the plugin to distinguish “semantic” differences. :slight_smile:
I don’t know the format of your “forms”. But, besides the @ryanjamurphy suggestion, you have others. For example, if you have different sections/headers to each elements (for example, when forms you can add a specific header) and filter the results including/excluding sections.

1 Like

I am not sure about your vault structure but it could be as simple as move all the forms in a seperate directory and exclude it then ?

1 Like

What the others said! Dataview needs some way to know which items are in checklists vs which are tasks.

There are many many possible ways to do that:

• Put all checklists in a particular folder and exclude the folder
  • Tag all files with checklists and exclude the tag
  • Tag each checklist item
  • Tag each task item
  • Append all checklist items with some string or character
  • Name all checklist files with a particular term
  • Put all checklists in a section with a particular term