A plugin to display basic information about the Bitcoin Network

:disguised_face: tl;dr

Hey everyone! I really love Obsidian, but unfortunately I don’t know how to write plugins and code in general. I would like to ask someone active to write a simple plugin to display information about the state of the Bitcoin network, which would parse data from one single site:

I will also be happy to pay 100,000 sats (0.001 btc) via :zap:Lightning Network as a thank you!

:bulb: The Idea

I’m not good at creating plugins and writing code, but I’d like to see a plugin for Obsidian that would give some basic information about the state of the Bitcoin network. Such plugin would be very useful for many bitcoiners, many of whom I know use Obsidian.

I decided to write this post asking an interested developer to create a basic (and super simple) plugin that would parse information from the service: Dashboard | Clark Moody Bitcoin and automatically add that information to a note.

I was thinking that instead of just a timestamp in the daily notes metadata, I’d like to see the Bitcoin block height at the time I create a new note, and maybe some other info (sats per dollar, blocks to halving, etc)

:sparkles: Examples

As I said, the plugin could be very simple and just output the information by replacing a certain tag with data from the service above. Here is an example of how it could look like:

We could add a tag like it’s done in the Templater plugin: let’s say %blockheight% would be automatically replaced in a new note with the block height information from the Dashboard | Clark Moody Bitcoin service.

Of course, you could go beyond just the block height information, but I don’t know how hard it would be to add all the parameters of the service this way. That’s why I will describe the most interesting parameters from this service that I would like to add to notes:

• Block Height | %height%
  • Blocks to Halving | %halving%
  • Sats per Dollar | %moscowtime% (it’s a local meme)