A brutalist approach to knowledge management in Obsidian

Hi all, a really old Obsidian user here (I’ve used this app since v0.5 or so). I’m a Product Manager in a small startup and also an Anthropology PhD student. My main use case is Knowledge Management, and I’d like to share my personal approach to it, which I call “Brutalist” since it’s the closest word I’ve found to describe the gist of this mindset, particularly in the web elaboration.

The Brutalist approach is an epistemic, ethic and aesthetic way of work with digital notes. I call it Brutalist because it feels and looks pretty rough, but at least to me has been sturdy enough to keep me using the same system 3 years without changes. The first two dimensions are expressed in a set of guiding principles inspired by multiple sources. The aesthetic dimension is more free, and I share my personal approach after the principles.

Separation of concerns

Notes are not tasks, nor agendas, projects, essays, books or papers. Each functional component of knowledge and management should be separated in a consistent way (different apps, vaults, directories, files or blocks). If I cannot extract each component programmatically then it needs refactoring.

Same principle applies to content versus presentation. I love (and do) editorial and web design, but at a note, draft and final writing levels I don’t care about them. Once content is ready, I can pass it through multiple pipelines that may include advanced CSS or In Design to focus on craft a better visual experience.

You are always wrong