Wouldn't creating links on Properties/YAML make my vault less future-proof?

Seeing as how (I believe (I’m new to Markdown and YAML)) you needed a community plugin to do this not long ago, wouldn’t it make it less future-proof? Could it turn into a very tedious to fix problem in the future?

I wanted to link things like, e.g., author metadata to that author’s note, instead of having to fill in the metadata normally and then having to link to the author on the note’s body.

If this does make it less future-proof, shouldn’t the ability to do this be disabled by default with a warning on the settings option? I know that there are more Obsidian features that wouldn’t work on a different platform, but this is a feature that involves whether links exist or not.

Lastly, Obsidian now treats YAML tags as normal tags, right? Looking at old forum posts, I see people debating whether they should not use YAML tags because it wouldn’t be easy to filter them out on the graph view as normal tags would.

The new property editor is just a more fancy way of interacting with the frontmatter. The actual content is (more or less) the same as before the new way to interact with it. So nothing has changed related to future proofing the actual markdown content.

In fact, if any changes this new way of interacting ensures a more conforming YAML, as you before were allowed to enter various text which really wasn’t truly compliant with the YAML standard.

Whether the links exists or not, is up to the markdown engine rendering them. With the new standard, i.e. "[[some note]]", we’re avoiding unclear cases between declaring an array of array versus declaring a link.

I’m not quite sure I follow you’re use case on the tags, but the old variant of accepting to use #tag in the tags property, is breaking with the YAML standard (if I’m not mistaken) as there # is the start of comments.