What is your experience with knowledge management in team environment?

I’m fairly new to Obsidian and have started to build something that looks like a PKM system for myself. But as doing so I figured that I could build a vault for my team of software test engineers at work.

We do struggle with knowledge management. We have a lot of knowledge in the team, but only certain people are experts in their area. We also have a lot of routines, notes, information in files on shared drives and as files inside different tools. This makes it very hard to find that specific piece of information, even if we know it exists somewhere. I believe that Obsidian could solve this problem, by unifying information in a shared vault.

Another issue we have as a global team is sharing information at the end of our workday with the co-workers starting their day. We are now writing a daily blog in an endless word document, which is cumbersome to work with. I can see that the daily notes in Obsidian, combined with a simple template, could solve that issue.

I’m now looking to the more experienced Obsidian users, to see if you have any experience in using Obsidian in a more team-centric environment? Is there any advice to give?

1 Like

This is really brief, but I don’t think Obsidian would work all that well for teamwork because of how raw it tends to be. Raw notes work fine for a PKM because you know how you introduced notes. However, with a team, I think the group would get caught up in everyone’s fleeting thoughts and be more confused.

I think that teams need some sort of formalizing and organizing. Notion is program that may be a good choice for you.

1 Like

Here is an interesting workflow from a team of pentesters. Their use case is the same as yours. Thanks to @EleanorKonik for highlighting this in her newsletter.

3 Likes

There’s this explanation about note titles from the article: