Wanting to use Obsidian in my mental health therapy practice

Things I have tried

What I’m trying to do

I am a mental health Therapist who has tried evernote and Notion among a dozen others as a way to be more efficient in working with my clients. I need to keep notes on clients as well as addresses and phone numbers and other relevant information. I am not sure if Obsidian will work or not. I am looking for any suggestions. I like what I see so far and really want to be able to use just one program and I am hoping it is this one.

4 Likes

I use it for the same, @scampbell70. I thought about Notion, but it’s not secure. I use vCita, but it’s so inconvenient. I have templates for new clients and for SOAP and STEP notes. In Daily Notes, I have my interactions which are then put in the client note with link back to the Daily Note. This makes it easy to see calls and emails with clients. I can hover over them to see what it was about or click to open the note. My client note has all their information in YAML so I can make a dataview page for all the clients. I then have headings of dates with sessions and other contact. I love being able to link things. For example, if your client has anger management issues, I link it to anger and I have all my interventions listed on that page so I can get ideas. Each intervention has its own page as well so I can link it to a client and know what I have done in the past. I can also see on the intervention page who I have used that intervention with and how it worked out. You can also print their file as a PDF for storage or to give to a referral if needed. For signed paperwork, I just note the form and where it’s stored rather than upload it.

6 Likes

@allanelder I would love to see your pages and templates is there any way you could share them?