Valuable lessons from the past!

Hi! My name is Martin - @martinz

I’m new here in these Obsidian-surroundings, and feeling a bit lost. This newbie-feeling fills me all over again…

I have been using / testing Obsidian, and I really like it. In fact I feel the same kind of enthusiasm, when I started discovering what Hypercard could do. That’s way back 1984 - 1994 …

I see many valuable lessons that could still be used today, which I would love to share with you…

Anyone interested?

Have a nice day!

martinz

5 Likes

Definitely! Sounds very interesting already.

Thanks for offering to share this connection. Looking forward to it.

I think if you look around you will probably see evidence that there is really no need to ask if anyone is interested. That being said, I think it is cool that you did.

I say there is no harm in just putting it out there in here, but then again I am new to these types of forums myself.

I would love to hear them as well.

I will be pleased to share my observations with you!

ARIA model

Hans van Driel in his research project “New media from a historical point of view” distinguishes four phases in developing “new media”:

• Amazement
  • Resistance
  • Imitation
  • Authenticity

He called it the ARIA model.

Hypercard

Hypercard was developed in the early stages of personal computing, and with it’s “Stack and Cards / Rolodex metaphor” an imitation of the “paper world” we were used to for many, many years. Yet there were some features already, that are authentic to a (personal) computer, for example: hypertext-links to jump from one card to the other.

userLevel

As far as I know Hypercard is the only application that combines an “Integrated User Environment” and an “Integrated Developer Environment” into a seamless whole. Not just a seperate IDE and IUE. I would call Hypercard a prototype of an IUMDE.