Use 'Search current file' in Preview mode [IMPLEMENTED]

Currently CTRL/Cmd+F only works in Edit mode, but not in Preview mode. It is very cumbersome when one has to switch from Preview to Edit to be able to search within the file.

28 Likes

I am still quite new to Obsidian and I would LOVE to see a search-within-document feature. So When I saw your comment I was confused.

Am I missing something here? When I hit CTRL/Cmd+F It changes the window to a full-screen view. I see no option for searching within a document.

1 Like

@dlordmills Just checking if you misread, perhaps? When Klaas says CTRL/Cmd+F, it means Ctrl+F OR Cmd+F. Not Ctrl+Cmd+F.

Ctrl+Cmd+F is fullscreen.

on MacOS, Cmd+F and I assume on Windows it is Ctrl+F makes a little search text field for searching within your document. But it seems that this only works in Edit Mode, not in Preview Mode.

1 Like

I think it’s more helpful to describe commands, not hotkeys because hotkeys are customizable and different depending on operating system. The command being referenced in this feature request is Search current file.

I like this feature request. Another approach could be to have a global search operator for the active note.

1 Like

The search option within a document is only available in Edit mode, and the standard hotkey combination is preset: Cmd+F/CTRL+F.

See also the replies by @rigmarole and @sam.baron.

1 Like

What would distinguish “global search operator for the active note” from Search current file? I would have assumed “global” meant searching everywhere, but what did you mean?

If by “global” you mean it should work both in Edit or Preview mode, or any future modes that might exist, I agree.

I mean using the Search in all files global search pane. Using global search would offer using the new advanced search syntax whereas Search current file is just a basic fuzzy search I believe.

So an example might be: active-note:("this thing" OR "that thing")

1 Like