Unlinked block mentions?

Hello,

I’m new to Obsidian and I saw that block references are now a feature in the latest insider build. I’m on personal right now but I’m considering purchasing catalyst if what I’m looking for is a feature right now with the block references:

Does obsidian pick up unlinked block mentions just like regular ones so that you can link them?

This is what’s kept my eyes on Roam Research the last few days but unfortunately (real) privacy and security aren’t a thing with their product atm so Obsidian is the choice for me.

One problem I have that this would solve is that I like to structure markdown pages with headers in list items (only way to indent headers and what’s below them in markdown without some css mess I think). Obsidian doesn’t pick up the headers when they’re list items so these block references would provide a solution.

Also, may I ask how long these releases usually stay insider-restricted? Or in other words: how long after such releases do official releases usually appear that make these features available for everyone?

Thanks for your time!

I think I’ll need some clarification before I can answer properly, but here’s an attempt. With Obsidian’s implementation, if you type [[^^, Obsidian initiates a vault-wide autocomplete search for whatever you type next. Every line’s a candidate for a new block. You can scope that instead by initiating the search with just [[^ (the current note) or [[Some note^ (I think that’s the syntax) for lines in Some note. Once you’ve selected a line, Obsidian converts the link to the format [[The note#^someblockid]], randomly generating someblockid if it doesn’t already exist and appending that to the target line in its context like this:

some line ^someblockid