Understanding combination and difference in directionality and structure

Calling all the geeks / experts on this forum!! :smiley:

Let me start off by saying, I am new to Obsidian. I am loving the forums and undoubtedly the tool itself. I tried reading the posts to get some answers to my question on note taking, but I believe I got lost and overwhelmed :slight_smile:

Okay, so let me get started.
I am organizing my notes in Obsidian around a particular topic that is structured. There is a specific parent / child relation to some items, while some of them have a sibling relationship, while others have a “relates-to” or “similar-to”.

To be clear, I am trying to solve if I can specify the associative ontology over hierarchical taxonomies which I believe Obsidian could provide. But is it fair to say that the “relations” between ontology classes (here notes) is missing?

Do we have a way to “define” what the relation is in a directed graph?

To provide a specific example;

1. “CORE_NODE” is the MOC node / core node in my case
  2. LAYER 1, LAYER 2 and the others aggregate to what is the “CORE_NODE”
  3. Topics under LAYER 1 ; say item-cat could have a “reference” to topics under, say, LAYER 2, say item-dog; but are completely non-overlapping.

item-cat and item-dog is a different kind of relation (relates to / references) than what is needed in “LAYER 1” and “LAYER 2” (aggregates). The bigger problem arises if later down the road, it could be mistaken that item-cat and item-dog are similar concepts, but they arent. A simple association does not help here.

Any thoughts on this?

Sorry if I spoke anything incorrectly.

Thank You!
Dexter

2 Likes