Todoist Sync Plugin (v1.8.0)

Hi there!

I use Todoist as my task manager alongside Obsidian for knowledge & project management. In doing so, I found that I wanted to be able to view my tasks in Obsidian to reduce context switching.

The result of this is an Obsidian plugin which allows you to materialize Todoist queries into Obsidian note! You can see this in the GIF below :grin:

If you’re interested you can find the source, documentation, and releases on GitHub!

Do give it a try if you’re interested and feedback or bug reports are very welcome (either here or on GitHub) :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

This plugin has since been ported onto the official API, first available in Obsidian Release v0.9.7 (Insider build). Sideloading through volcano is no longer supported as of v1.5.0.

35 Likes

Love this idea. I don’t use Todoist as I have been using Remember the Milk since 2006. I have flirted with moving several times in that 14 years, but never found what I was looking for. However, combining my main task app with Obisidian is a game changer. I have already flirted with just using Obsidian, however there are some advanced features with RTM (and I’m sure Todoist) that are too valuable to give up. Your plugin solves that.

Hopefully this can be converted to an official plugin to make install that much easier.

Thanks for this.

3 Likes

@dddave I very much plan on using the official plugin API when that releases!

For what its worth, it looks like Remember the Milk has an API too, so something similar should be possible there too! :smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for going to the trouble of making this. Going to give it a try after banging my head trying to set up some sort of todo system for Obsidian. ; )

Ray

1 Like

I noticed this naturally doesn’t work when opening in other apps like 1Writer on iOS, etc. so for easy access to Todoist, I added this link code to the page:

[Open Todoist app](todoist://)