Templater script to find the maximum value of a frontmatter key in a group of notes within a folder, and increment it by one to assign to the same key in the created note

What I’m trying to do

I have a folder with a series of session notes. I want to be able to create a new session note in that folder from a Templater template, and have its serial number automatically calculated and added to the frontmatter variable ‘sessionNumber’. It seems simple, but I have spent more than a week trying in vain to do it. I am new to Dataview, Templater, and JavaScript, so this has not helped, and I have been learning and troubleshooting as fast as I can.

Things I have tried

I have written a script in CommonJS module specification that I call using

<% tp.user.getNewSessionNumber %>

from the session note template. Its purpose is to find the new session number by checking the largest existing value of the sessionNumber key in the frontmatter of the existing notes in the folder, and adding 1. At the moment, I am attempting to use Dataview to do this.

My script is finally working (it can be called by the template and throws no errors when it has safeguards). A new note is created with much of the desired initial content, but I cannot get it to assign the right session number (I get the result undefined). What I am currently trying to run is as follows:

function getNewSessionNumber (tp) {
    let thisPatientSessionFolderPath = tp.file.folder(true);

// Get an array of all the pages in the specified folder
	let pages = app.plugins.plugins.dataview.api.pages(`"${thisPatientSessionFolderPath}"`);
	console.log("pages array: " + pages);

// Create a new array to store the session numbers
	let sessionNumberList = [];

// Loop through each page and check if it has a session type and a valid sessionNumber property
	for (let i = 0; i < pages.length; i++) {
  		let page = pages[i];
		console.log("pages("+ i + "): " + sessionNumberList);