Stuck at fork in road re: metadata/tags/yaml/etc as a beginner

Hi, I’m brand new to Obsidian (this week), and I have to say, I’m wild about it! The app, the community, the creative workflow potential, all of it!

Apologies, because I’m sure this has been discussed 100 times, but I couldn’t figure out a search that addressed this dilemma:

I’ve seen a lot of content encouraging newcomers to avoid the temptation to over-organize, and just dive into creating stuff. As time goes on, the organization techniques will present themselves naturally, etc.

My confusion is: a lot of the organization seems to be related to tags and other metadata people add in their notes. Do people build up a bunch of material, and THEN at a later date, when the time is finally right, go back through a hundred or more notes, one at a time, tediously adding these organizational bits? Or am I misunderstanding something?

I’d imagine its ideal to get in the habit of adding this stuff whenever you make a new note, but does that mean knowing which way will work best? I’m trying to get a better grasp on “YAML vs inline vs other” as my method of adding metadata to notes, and being stuck at that fork has me a tad hesitant to make a bunch of stuff yet. I’m guessing this comes up a lot, but I don’t know how to find this conundrum in a search result.

EDIT: i hope “Help” is an ok place to ask this. I meant to put this in the “Knowledge Management” forum.

1 Like

One way to start is to manage your expectations. A good way to do this might be to start with a couple tags that correspond to the status of your notes. That seems to be a technique that many people find useful. But, by starting slowly and observing how, when, why, and where these tags help out, you can begin to expand upon the method and utilize more advanced tactics like embedded searches, regex, dataview, and many many more if you want.