Should I become a software developer?

I know this might seem like an odd place to ask this question but here my thoughts:

Seeing that Obsidian is extensible with TypeScript inspires me to learn TypeScript myself, I would be able to tinker it to my own needs and share the solutions with others. I would also learn how software works in general, or what the ‘language’ of software is.

I’m wondering if it has any advantages in my daily life, and not just as a job/career. I’m thinking that it’d open my eyes to what is really possible with software, and that I’d be able to tinker with software to suit my own needs.

Is anyone here a software developer or software engineer? Is it enjoyable? I hear horror stories of people having to work overtime or having to work all day, which isn’t what I want.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be great.

Hi, I’m a self taught software developer myself.

I think it’s hard work for the brain, but enjoyable. The code is created in brain, not by fingers typing on a keyboard. So brain is under a constant stress. I think the risk of working overtime comes from the fact that it’s very hard to make estimates on how much time it takes to develop a feature. Scheduling is hard because you can’t know how big problems you’re going to face. Experience helps to foresee some problems, but won’t protect from all of them.

The good thing about this field is that in addition to the time required on studying programming, the only thing you need to invest in is a computer, and maybe a commercial code editor software. Most of the programming languages and libraries, at least for web development, are free to use.