Setting up notes for student

Things I have tried

I've been watching countless videos and reading on this forum but still don't think I have what I am looking for.

What I’m trying to do

I'm an economics student and I've set up a vault for one of my classes because it's more history based (I usually write my notes out using iPad Pro because econ = lots of maths, but this is very heavy on words so typing is more efficient).

Anyway, it’s a single vault for a single course.
(1) Do I create a new note for every lecture? (they follow through in chronological order focussing on big economic events from 11kBC to present day) OR;
(2) Do I create a new note for every sub-topic within each lecture and link it back to the general lecture topics it gets mentioned in OR;
(3) A mix of both with me creating a single note during each lecture and typing all of my notes out there and then for larger “sub-topics” creating small notes OR;
(4) Something else entirely

I’m so confused, I don’t know which is the best method, and I’m swapping note taking programs halfway through my Semester so it’s a bit difficult and stressful.
Please let me know what you do.

Well, there’s no right answer. Different folks will have different ideas for the best way to approach this.

I suggest working backwards. What’re you trying to do or achieve with these notes? Pass the course? Carry the knowledge forward? Relate historical study with your developing knowledge of economics?