Run python file with templater

I’m very new in templater and python. So I might be missing something very obvious.

I’m trying to run a python script through templater plugin. My aim is to insert the python result into obsidian. When I try a simple code with numpy it works (like printing out an array of numbers). But when I try to run a file with different libraries such as request or geopy it doesn’t work. The obsidian console prints out “No module named requests” . But I know that they are installed. How can I solve this problem?

Below is the code Im using (by the way the script works and prints out just fine in terminal)

import requests
import json

send_url = "http://api.ipstack.com/check?access_key=MYTOKEN"
geo_req = requests.get(send_url)
geo_json = json.loads(geo_req.text)
latitude = geo_json['latitude']
longitude = geo_json['longitude']

print(latitude,longitude)
1 Like

Maybe it’s using another path?

Can you check with:

import sys
print(sys.path)

and check if the requests lib is there?

Thank you for responding. I also think its a path issue. But Im not really understanding. “print(sys.path)” prints out the following:

‘/Users/nat/opt/anaconda3/lib/python37.zip’, ‘/Users/nat/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.7’, ‘/Users/nat/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/lib-dynload’, ‘/Users/nat/.local/lib/python3.7/site-packages’, ‘/Users/nat/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages’, ‘/Users/nat/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/pip-21.2.2-py3.7.egg’

Im sorry, Im not sure how to check if request is there. When I try to install requests via pip it says the following (maybe this can help):

already satisfied: requests in ./opt/anaconda3/envs/thesis/lib/python3.7/site-packages (2.23.0)

I think pip installed the ‘requests’ library in the anaconda environment ‘thesis’, but templater somehow is using another (default?) environment.

I ignore how to configure python in templater, perhaps the environment needs to be selected in the config

conda activate thesis