Retrieve list of bullet points and their sub items

I am a teacher, I use daily logs, and in
My daily log I have 1 bullet point per class, specified by a hashtag. Sub-bullet points are the details of my lessons. For example:

Daily/20240125

• #class1
    • Geometry
    • Test on Pythagora
  • #class2
    • Algebra

Next to those daily notes, I’d like to have 1 page per class, that would display automatically what I did each day with that class. So in my example, I would create a page “class 1”, a page “class 2”, and I’d like the “class 1” page to automatically display, for each day:

20240125 (as a bullet, or as a header)

• Geometry
  • Test on Pythagora

This would allow me to encode daily activities via daily logs, but when I focus on 1 class, see what they did each day.

I tried the solutions mentioned in the following article, this seemed very close from what I needed, but unfortunately it failed: Possible to just get a flat list of bulleted items that have a certain tag? · blacksmithgu/obsidian-dataview · Discussion #1329 · GitHub

Indeed, the following code only returns 1 bullet point with “class1”.

list without id
L.text
flatten file.lists as L
where contains(L.tags, "#class1")

Is there a way to retrieve all sub-items under the bullet that contains #class1 ?

Thanks a lot!

The trick to this is to focus on picking out the tagged lists items, but displays it’s children. So the following seems to do the trick:

```dataview
LIST item.children.text FROM #class1
FLATTEN file.lists as item
WHERE contains(item.tags, "#class1")
```

In my test vault the output was:

Thank you so much!

For my understanding, why is it required to specify

FROM #class1

Since I anyway specify the hashtag I’m looking for in the WHERE statement?

It’s not totally required, but doing the FLATTEN file.lists in the entire vault would expand any lists in any notes, and that is somewhat expensive. By adding the FROM #class1 we limit the set where we take a closer look on the lists.