Question for bloggers, journalists, and other short-form writers: How do you organize projects?

I have been a journalist and professional blogger (now doing marketing writing, but same workflow) for many years. A long time ago, I settled on a routine of one folder per project. When I start work on an article, I create a folder for that article, and all research materials, notes, correspondence, and drafts go in that folder.

I’m still using that routine in Obsidian, in addition to creating an Index document which includes links to the other documents. But all that organizational work seems redundant.

My question to other journalists, bloggers, and other short-form article writers:
How do you organize Obsidian?

Related–and this is a quirk of Obsidian that drives me crazy—I have gotten in the habit of using the “Linked Mentions” pane but I don’t like that it only shows the filename of the remote document, and not the full path. The path is relevant information! I have not found a satisfactory workaround. Right now, I repeat path information in the document name, which seems like a waste of time and possibly a cause of errors. Any ideas?

3 Likes

For writing (and other) projects I still use folders, with a set of standard subfolders that I use as needed. I don’t bother making index files. I use the plugins Folder Note Core and AIdenLX’s Folder Note for folder intro/overviews, and Reveal Active File Button to speed File Explorer navigation.