Query for notes containing tags with a date of in the next x days

Things I have tried

dv.taskList(dv.pages().file.tasks.where(t => t.text.includes("#knx")).where(t => !t.completed));

What I’m trying to do

I want to query for all uncompleted tasks containing a tag and a date (as tag), which is in the next x days. To e.g. get an overview over all upcoming tasks for the next 7 days containing a specific tag. Since I’m pretty new to Obsidian and completely new to dataviewjs I am honestly lost. Above is my working approach without the date filtering.

An example line that should be caught as of today would be

- [ ] Example task #knx #2022-12-01

One that should be ignored is

- [ ] Another example task #knx #2022-11-28

To achieve that I think you have two options:

• or you know regex… to extract any “date” in the text or tag (“date”, because isn’t a recognized date value)
  • or you need to write the date as an inline field, not as tag. (to inline fields, check plugin documentation)

Thanks so far. Regex is no problem at all, I think

[\d]{4}-[\d]{2}-[\d]{2}

should do the job for me. The question for me would then be how to connect everything. So how to include the regex and compare the result as date object to the current date.

I’m not versed in JS (nor in regex), but taking your regex expression I think you can start by something similar to this

// regex expression
const regex = /[\d]{4}-[\d]{2}-[\d]{2}/g

// filter tasks
const tasks = dv.pages('#knx').file.tasks.where(t => t.text.includes("#knx")).where(t => dv.date(t.text.match(regex)[0]) > dv.date('today'))

dv.taskList(tasks)

For me dates in JS are a mistery… So, now it’s your time to find a way to delimit the next x days from today date :slight_smile:

EDIT:
This is a ‘stupid’ repetition, but maybe with dv.date(t.text.match(regex)[0]) > dv.date('today') && dv.date(t.text.match(regex)[0]) <= dv.date('today').plus({days: 7})

1 Like