Problem with autocompletion of nested tasks (crossed)

Newbie here. I have tried searching, but couldn’t find this mentioned elsewhere. Also, I don’t use any non-core plugins yet.

Problem: When I make an indented/nested to-do list, it looks fine in edit mode, but not in reading mode: it scratches out the nested task even though the box is not ticked.

Steps to reproduce

Make to-do list (Ctrl + enter), write something, hit enter, tab, write something. Mark first task done (Ctrl + enter again), view in reading mode (Ctrl + e).

Expected result

For the first task to be marked complete, but not the second.

Actual result

tasks

Environment

• Operating system: Windows 10 Home
  • Debug info:
    SYSTEM INFO:
    Obsidian version: v0.13.33
    Installer version: v0.13.31
    Operating system: Windows 10 Home 10.0.19043
    Login status: not logged in
    Insider build toggle: off
    Live preview: on
    Legacy editor: off
    Base theme: dark
    Community theme: none
    Snippets enabled: 0
    Safe mode: on

RECOMMENDATIONS:
none

1 Like

this is impossible to achieve

Text decorations are drawn across descendant text elements. This means that if an element specifies a text decoration, then a child element can’t remove the decoration.

Source: text-decoration - CSS: Cascading Style Sheets | MDN

Text decorations are drawn across descendant text elements. This means that if an element specifies a text decoration, then a child element can’t remove the decoration. For example, in the markup <p>This text has <em>some emphasized words</em> in it.</p>, the style rule p { text-decoration: underline; } would cause the entire paragraph to be underlined. The style rule em { text-decoration: none; } would not cause any change; the entire paragraph would still be underlined. However, the rule em { text-decoration: overline; } would cause a second decoration to appear on “some emphasized words”.

1 Like