Navigating in Reading Mode with Vim plugin (no accidental editing possible :)

Navigating your links in preview mode without using the mouse and without accidentally deleting something would be nice.

If you could use the Vim plugin in preview mode and it then was impossible to edit the note, you could open the link under cursor with a hotkey, etc.

8 Likes

yes i would also like to navigate using vim keybindings in preview mode

There is now this plugin in beta:

horriblename/preview-mode-keybinds-obsidian: Obsidian plug in to add keybindings to preview mode (vim-like key-bindings) (github.com)

nice!

I’m new to Obsidian and loving it, one thing that’s missing though is when I change the view of a note from editor to preview and want to scroll. Since I’m using VIM it’d be really helpful to keep at least the basic navigations shortcuts to scroll through a note (j, k, Ctrl + D, Ctrl + U) in preview mode. Even if you’re not using VIM I’ve found that’s difficult to scroll using the arrows since you first have to click on the note and have it as an ‘active’ window for it to recognize the scrolling arrow gestures (I use Ctrl + E to toggle between editor and preview). So in short: It’ll be awesome if the users that have enabled VIM could scroll using VIM gestures in preview mode!

10 Likes

I have also raise this here :smile: Support vim key-binding for navigation in Preview Mode

3 Likes

This will indeed be very useful. Is it possible to do this via an extension?

1 Like

moved to plugins ideas.

Check out this experimental plugin: https://github.com/kometenstaub/obsidian-vim-reading-view-navigation

It would be great to have vim key binding in Preview Mode. To be clear, I would like to be able to navigate around only, for example, by supporting hjkl or Ctrl+U, Ctrl+D, g, G, etc.
Thanks.

24 Likes

+1.
Currently I have to navigate the document via mouse.