Moved vault within Mac - cascade of errors

Hi. I’m brand new to Obsidian. This happened while writing maybe my 6th note. Today I moved my vault on my Mac from my Documents folder to a subfolder within the Documents folder. This made everything break, causing a cascade of error messages and disappeared notes. I quit Obsidian and restarted and it didn’t think I had a vault at all and started the steps to walk me through setting one up as if none existed.

I moved my vault back to its original place, everything worked again. Sorry if this is a really dumb question, I truly have no idea what I’m doing and this completely freaked me out. What is possible and impossible in moving a vault? How do I move my vault without causing this problem?

This is on an up to date Mac with up to date Obsidian. Thanks!

First steps!

• backup your vault! Zip it up and copy it somewhere safe, just in case. (Always backup.)
  • You mentioned using the Documents folder. This is important: Was your vault INSIDE the Documents folder, or were you using ~/Documents AS your vault?
    • If you were using Documents as your vault, moving your vault is going to be trickier, because you need to move your hidden .obsidian settings folder too. You can move your notes only, but you’ll get completely fresh settings.
    • You can’t follow the A) “Move vault” steps below if you used the Documents folder, because that is a built-in folder in MacOS.
    • To be clear, using ~/Documents as a vault is possible but probably a bad idea. It’s better to choose a custom folder somewhere, so that it is a single folder you can move, backup, etc.

Did you have Obsidian open when you moved the vault? And did you move the vault using Finder? If you moved it using Finder, Obsidian isn’t aware of what you did, so it will appear like the vault became empty.

Try one of these ways:

A) Using Obsidian:

1. First you have to close the vault you want to move.
  2. Open “Open another vault” window.