Linked windows opened via "More options" menu cannot be closed with hotkey CMD-W

Things I have tried

I opened a file in a new pane. Then I opened via the “More options” menu a linked file. It doesn’t matter what file: local graph, backlinks, etc.

Then I tried to close this linked file with the shortcut CMD-W (macOS) without success.

To prevent side effects from plugins, I tried it in the Sandbox with the same effect (no effect).

What I’m trying to do

Closing with shortcut CMD-W a linked file opened via the “More Options” menu.

I am new to Obsidian, so I do not know: Is this a bug, or are linked files supposed to work this way? (But I could close the linked window manually. e.g., without the window closing hotkey.)

I am using Obsidian Version 0.15.9 (installer 0.14.15) on macOS 12.5.1.

I can’t reproduce.

Download and reinstall obsidian. Post a screen recording of this happening in the sandbox vault.

I reinstalled Obsidian as you have advised me. And here is a screen recording with my comments. (Note: I always talked about “windows”. What I meant are Obsidian’s panes.)
Screencast-Obsidian.mov.zip (3.6 MB)

Hopefully, this helps.

Thank you. Ok, I understand your problem. It works fine for me. We’ll investigate a bit more.

will be fixed in 0.16

2 Likes

Steps to reproduce

Open any note. Open local graph with Graph View → Open local graph. Use keyboard shortcut for Close Active Pane (default on windows is Ctrl-W)

Expected result

Local graph pane closes.

Actual result

Nothing happens.

Environment

• Operating system: Windows 10 Enterprise
  • Debug info:
    SYSTEM INFO:
    Obsidian version: v0.15.9
    Installer version: v0.15.9
    Operating system: Windows 10 Enterprise 10.0.19044
    Login status: logged in
    Catalyst license: none
    Insider build toggle: off
    Live preview: on
    Legacy editor: off
    Base theme: dark
    Community theme: none
    Snippets enabled: 2
    Restricted mode: off
    Plugins installed: 4
    Plugins enabled: 4