Is there a cost to integrating Zettelkasten in an 'everything' vault?

I’m pretty new with both Obsidian and Zettelkasten.
To me the real promise of Obsidian is in the ideas generation that Zettelkasten is about.
But my inclindation is to use One Vault for Everything - essentially a general PKM/B.
So far as I can see this should work so long as its easy for me to filter the content that knowledge and ideas, rather than also information and reference (eg, default tag). If I had just one intellectual project, one vault on that would make sense, but the edges of multiple projects across research, writing and teaching (and even some aspects of leadership) mean the costs of siloing into vaults will be potentially great. In going for one integrated vault, am I missing somethng?

1 Like

Give @nickmilo’s LYT kit a try. I think you’ll see that you’re able to make it work.

I do this - I maintain one vault for all my interests and endeavors, which are pretty varied. I decided on a single vault with some namespacing (ie, folders) for some areas. Most things are still just loose notes in the root directory, but for some projects, I’ve found it useful to create a separate folder to avoid ambiguity (for example, “axe” is both a tool in accessibility testing and a weapon in a role playing game).

I also have separate folders for other people’s work. I use the “Show Current File Path” plugin so that I can see at a glance that a note is a source, not my own writing. I always add authors’ names and use blockquotes liberally because I never want to inadvertently plagiarize something.

It works out really well for me, and I’m glad I don’t have multiple vaults to manage.

2 Likes

Thanks @KevinR - I’ve got it downloaded and look forward to having a play

That’s good to hear, thanks @nvanderhoeven

Yes there is a cost if you don’t separate your concerns somehow.

Similar to others I also use the One Vault For Everything pattern with a Zettelkasten approach.