Is it possible to disable underscore displayed as italic and bold?

I just use asterisks for italic and bold. As a programmer I write lots of names with underscore in it. Inline code could be a way but it’s kind of annoying.
It’s possible to disable underscore displayed as italic and bold forever?

I wish that underscores and asterisks in the middle of words had never been part of the Markdown spec. It was such a dumb idea.

Hi,

Don’t think it’s possible to disable it, but it’s possible to work around using underscores in normal text:

• within_a_word shouldn’t be a problem
  • _at_start it can be prepended with \ to not render the italics
  • italics as per standard
  • in codeblocks it shouldn’t be _an issue_
-  within_a_word shouldn't be a problem
- \_at_start it can be prepended with `\` to _not_ render the italics
- _italics_ as per standard
- in codeblocks it shouldn't be `_an issue_`
  • Update: Within a paragraph you can also use not an issue. It does however render as code, so it might need some styling for display purposes, but then again in some cases like filename I kind of like the difference in styling.

Hope this helps,
Holroy

2 Likes

Underscores inside words don’t trigger italics on my system. If you’re seeing that, maybe it’s a theme issue or out-of-date installer or something?

I also wish for this. My Jekyll install writes filenames with underscores all over the place.

I am increasingly in favor of being able to alter or disable “_” as “italics”. I know there is a workaround of adding a backslash in front, or space, etc.

But here’s one reason not to.

Google Drive files often have underbars in the URL, (file[“alternativeLink”]) .

I am running a python script to make a (markdown) table of my Google Drive files, related to folder in my Obsidian vault.

But the “_” underscore character breaks the markdown-formatted table.