Is it possible to add conditional statements in Zotero import templates (and how can it be done )?

Hi everyone,

I am a huge obsidian noob ( discovered it less than a week ago) and I’m trying to setup my personal workflow with appropriate templates. The potential seems overwhelming, but I’m a little bit lost. Very sorry then if my problem is an obvious one !

Things I have tried

I’m linking Obsidian with Zotero using bibnotes and I retrieve all the zotero’s tags and convert them as tags in obsidian as well.
In Zotero, I use a specific tag “#Read” when I’ve read an article, but I don’t use an opposite one (which would be “#toRead”)

What I’m trying to do

In my bibliographic Zotero template, I want to add a tag, for instance “#toRead”, if there is already no tag #Read" in the tag list.
Is it possible and how can I do that ?

Any pointers or tips would be greatly appreciated !!! :wink:

1 Like

Which Community Plugin for Obsidian are you using for the Zotero imports? And what plugin do you use for making templates? Your options depend on those!

Thanks for your answer ! :+1:
I’m using the BibNotes Formatter plugin (GitHub - stefanopagliari/bibnotes) on Obsidian’s side, and the BetterBibTex plugin on Zotero’s side.
Do you need more information ?

1 Like

Thank you, and thank you for including the links to save me some time! First thing to know, which it seems like you may already know the answer to, is which field your Zotero #Read tag shows up in when you make a bibliographic note. (If you don’t know the answer, you could stick all the potentially relevant sounding fields from the custom fields list in a template, import something from Zotero that you know has #Read, and see which template field the tag shows up in.