In page Tag filtering/folding

Use case or problem

When I have a very long document, I like to tag specific paragraphs or bullets to make it easier to find related ideas.

I’m a writer, so I use Markdown for outlining stories. For each scene in my outline, I use a tag to identify the characters that appear in the scene, e.g. #ian, #rick, #kate

At the moment, those tags apply at a document level. I can find the documents tagged with #ian or #rick or #kate. But once the document is open, there’s no elegant way to only view the scenes related to that tag.

Proposed solution

I switched to Obsidian from FoldingText as my primary Markdown editor. One of the things that allowed me to make that switch is that Obsidian supports folding/collapsing of headers, which was the primary reason I was still using FoldingText despite it being basically a dead product. The header folding functionality allows me to collapse/hide irrelevant parts of my document, so I can really focus on the parts that matter.

FoldingText had a similar solution for tags, and I really miss that. You could click any tag in a document, and it would collapse/hide any paragraphs or bullets where that tag didn’t appear. This effectively let me say “show me all the scenes in the story where Ian appears, and hide everything else.”

For example, a document might contain:

- This is a scene about Ian. #ian
- This is a scene about Kate. #kate
- This is a scene about Ian and Kate. #ian #kate
- This is a scene about Rick. #rick
- This is a scene about Ian and Rick. #ian #rick

With tag folding, I could click #ian, and the document would look like this:

- This is a scene about Ian. #ian
- This is a scene about Ian and Kate. #ian #kate
- This is a scene about Ian and Rick. #ian #rick