How to write [***] easily?

Hi, I’m new to Obsidian.

What I’m trying to do

In order of priority

1. I want to be able to type [***] and not \[\*\*\*\] on the line I’m editing.
  2. I want to be able to see [***] and not \[\*\*\*\] on the line I’m editing.

Motivation:
I often use [***] to mark important items in a list.
For #1, It is very annoying to need to write 10 characters instead of 5.
For #2, the visual clutter is distracting.

Question:
Is there some way to accomplish my goal? Perhaps a keyboard shortcut, or a theme, or … anything?!

Things I have tried

I have tried

• Two themes. (Incidentally, the California Coast theme mentioned here seemed promising, but I couldn’t find it in the theme list.)
  • Two CSS hacks. (For example, the hack called anythingyouwant.css here did not produce the desired behavior.)
  • Lots of miscellaneous manual attempts.

Typing transformer plugin, for example:
Add rule (you press 3 and asterisk and you get what you want; if that’s what you want):
'3*|' -> '\[\*\*\*\]|'

• The | character is the cursor position you can set.
1 Like

Thanks, this looks very promising.

I’ve installed the plugin. How do I add a rule? (The README seems to give examples of rules, but I don’t know where I should write this rule. Ideally I’d like to enforce the rule globally. Is there some .rsrc file somewhere where I can place it?)

You may also want to try abbreviation expander plugin.

Why do use that combination? Would another combination suffice, which would be easier to type (and read) in edit mode suffice?

Do that markup lead/convert to something special later on, or is it just a convenience from your part that you’ve grown accustomed to?

Plugin settings:
You can set global or add a separate profile (I used to have one but deleted it):

• It’s worthwhile to keep a markdown file with rules and just copy+paste in here.
2 Likes

Thank you.

1 Like